Jul 2021

28 29 30 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1


11 O Clock - Liz Kinoshita

mon 23/11/2020 > sat 05/12/2020

In her new creation, Liz Kinoshita reaches into her mechanisms of the musical research for this performance to focus on one particular mechanism, the ’11 o’clock number’, traditionally found in musicals as the second to last number wherein a protagonist makes a pivotal realisation through a soliloquy-like address, generally with plenty of emotion, conviction, drive and heart. Historically it can be a show-stopper or a melancholic reflective moment. Liz has an interest in how we conduct
ourselves, and what power there is in listening to and observing each other’s methods for dealing with today’s quandaries... Do we pray, do we indulge, do we lash out, do we acquiesce? The title 11 O’clock lends itself to the conation of the 11th hour, of impending catastrophe, of an immediacy and directness, to be delivered on stage. As always Liz strives to make performance in which the audience feels addressed and energized. 11 O’clock aims to come face to face with our truths through dance, song and direct rhetoric.

Concept, direction Liz Kinoshita  | Creation, performance Némo Flouret, Liz Kinoshita, Irene Occhiato | Creation Sophia Dinkel, Justin F. Kennedy, Clinton Stringer | Instrumental music Bart Maris, Eitan Efrat | Lighting design Tim Wouters | Technique Elke Verachtert  | Artistic advice Chrysa Parkinson  | Costume advice Anne-Catherine Kunz  | Sound advice Chris Peck | Executive production Caravan Production (Brussel, BE) | Coproduction CC Brugge (Brugge, BE), PACT Zollverein (Essen, DE), Kunstenwerkplaats – KWP (Brussel, BE), MDT (Stockholm, SE) | Residencies Danspunt (Gent, BE), De Grote Post (Oostende, BE), De Factorij (Zaventem, BE), KAAP (Brugge, BE), STUK (Leuven, BE), Kunstenwerkplaats - KWP (Brussel, BE), CC Brugge (Brugge, BE) | With support of The Flemish Authorities | Special thanks to Salka Ardal Rosengren, Louise Tanoto, Sylvie De Pauw, Dick van der Harst, Jacinte Armstrong, Studio Zaman (Brussels, BE), Tanzhaus Zürich (Zürich, CH)